Brainstorming Panels for a Con   Leave a comment

Hey, y’all. While I’ve been juggling projects and health issues and not updating here very much, I seem to have gotten involved with a start-up con in Binghamton, NY . Why Binghamton? Because I don’t travel as well as I used to, so cons within about a three-hour drive of me are the only ones I can really consider going to right now. This means I have a vested interest in seeing a new one be successful. :-)

And on that note, I’m helping them connect with some local authors (again, to the tune of being within a few hours’ drive, because nobody’s likely to drive more than that for a one-day con) and trying to put together a literary track of programming. They’re already doing pretty well on gaming and comics, not that that stops me from thinking about those, too.

So I’m brainstorming panel and other programming ideas over the next half a week or a week. I’d love to get some other people’s suggestions and thoughts. Jump on in–anyone can play. I’ll put in an edit line and add people’s suggestions below it as they trickle in. Comment on other people’s suggestions, too, if you like. If you’re interested in knowing more about the con, here’s their webpage and their Facebook page. Both are a little stale right now–I’ve been told there’ll be an update in the next few days, now that the organizers aren’t up to their eyeballs in grant applications. *g*

Here’s a few to get us started:

Narrative shape in storytelling (literary/media)
The do’s and don’ts of crowdfunding
Science for science fiction writers
The changing face of publishing
Diversity in speculative fiction
20/20 hindsight: changing visions of the future
World-building 101

Edited to add:

From magic realism to superheroes: modern myth in SF/F
All about e-books
SF Outsiders: women, people of color, and more writing SF today
Writing Tech: bringing science and technology into fiction

If you’d like to be a guest and participate at RoberCon, let me know, and I’ll get your information to the organizers so they can contact you.

Posted August 10, 2013 by April L'Orange in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

