What I’m Writing – WIP   Leave a comment

I owe y’all a couple of book reviews, but life has been hectic. Hopefully this coming week. In the meantime, have a sneak peak at what I’m tearing my hair out over today. I haven’t decided yet if I’ll keep the pronouns the way they are or not. It’s one of those things I need to do for me as I’m writing it, which I may then change as a mercy to the reader later on.

For anyone who’s ever wondered, it doesn’t matter how long you’ve been writing, there’s always a stage (at least one stage) where you think that what you’re writing is crap. Sometimes you’re right, sometimes not. But it all feels the same at the time, and it can be really hard to tell the difference until it’s had a chance to sit and meld for a while, like a good salsa. What you think–is it the kind of opening that would draw you into a story or drive you away? What kind of story are you expecting, from these few paragraphs?

*

“When people first came to Arquets, it was a bitter moon. But with nanobots to begin the terraforming process . . .”

A tiny picture of a snake squirmed its way onto the bottom of my desk display while Sl. Tiane droned on about ancient history at the front of the class. I pinched the snake between two fingers, and it expanded into a line of text: “Can’t sleep over. On restriction. Meet at treehouse.”

Being careful not to roll my eyes–Sl. Tiane had caught us passing notes that way before–I replied, “I hate you,” and sent the snake on its way.

Three seats away, Mebek grinned at me. Han knew I’d be there. Meb was always getting on restriction, and since han had been my only friend since we were four years old, it made my life very dull, except for sneaking over to see han. Of course I’d meet han there. It wasn’t as good as a sleepover, but hans parent, Teler, either hadn’t caught on to our meeting in the treehouse or didn’t care.

A moment later, Sl. Tiane asked han what was so funny, and why didn’t han share with the rest of the class. I bit the inside of my lip to keep from smiling.

I might be Karse who Wasn’t Quite Right to the other teens, but I understood how the world worked.

#

Posted March 11, 2012 by April L'Orange in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

