Terrible Tales of Firefox 5   Leave a comment

I installed Firefox 5 a day or two ago and was thrilled by the awesome.  I haven’t crashed it since I installed it–I used to crash Firefox 4 two or three times a day. App tabs are wonderful and tab groups are massively convenient. I’m one of those people who tends to bookmark things and never return them again, so tabs have been a wonderful way to keep things I need to deal with in front of me. As soon as I saw that tab groups were available, I was hooked. I put all the tabs for my submission deadlines in one group, all the interesting content I want to mention on my editing blog in another group, and random projects in further groups. And I can bring up any group at any time.

So imagine my surprise when I go to pull up my tab groups this afternoon so I can submit a story, and when I click in a tab group, it disappears. Entirely. I move my groups around to see if I’ve hidden it, and another group disappears.

Did I mention I used to be a computer geek? I know how to fix this kind of crap, and for this, there is no fix.

After an hour of research, no viable fixes, locating my session state backup file from yesterday and making a backup copy of that so I can restore later, I finally brave closing and reopening Firefox. Surprise, all my missing tabs are back . . . but they’re scattered as single tabs all over Panorama (the area where tab groups are stored). At this point, I can live with that, and begin painstakingly rebuilding my groups.

Ninety minutes after I set out to do so, I finally manage to submit the story.

So . . . Firefox 5 = wonderful, but maybe a little unstable yet. If you aren’t crashing regularly, I’d suggest waiting through that usual  update or two before you try it. And if you are . . . the file you want to back up religiously is C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\profile.default\sessionrestore.js.  Sessionrestore.bak wouldn’t hurt, either.

Posted June 26, 2011 by April L'Orange in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

